TechOnTip Weblog

Run book for Technocrats

How to Extend a System Disk in Windows 2008 R2 Server?

Posted by Brajesh Panda on January 13, 2010

Do you remember cumbersome process in Windows 2003 to extend your partitions using “Diskpart” especially C: Drives i.e. System Partitions??

Windows 2008 R2 has a fantastic solution around that. You can use Disk Management console and do that. Let’s do a small lab around this.

I am using a virtual machine, where I have C: is 20GB and D:10GB & have unallocated space around 100GB.

I have right click on system volume i.e. C:, found Extend Volume has been grayed out but when I right click on D: I can see it is active. What the heck is this?

Ah! Now I understood I can only extend my partition if there is some adjacent free unallocated space.

I don’t have any data on D:, so I can delete that and create some space for my testing.

D: partition has been deleted, now I can see Extend option for my system partition.

Let me provide another 5000GB in extend wizard. Wow now it is 24 GB! Just wondering why can’t we extend our partition to a unallocated place located in a different physical location in the same HDD at least? Can anybody buzz me a link around that?

In past I have tried one Linux based tool for disk re-alignment called “GParted”. If I am not wrong that is one of my best bootable media to extend partitions when Windows 2008 R2 was not there & for non-windows machines. If you like to try that, you can download from the community portal http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php.

Hope you like this!

2 Responses to “How to Extend a System Disk in Windows 2008 R2 Server?”

  1. kim said

    LoL, that is appreciated. I have also experence such a problem, and I use AOMEI Partition Assistnat to do the same thing as you said.

  2. Someone Helpful said

    I had the option grayed out until I hit rescan disks… even though the drive already had noticed the new space my VM Host gave it.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

