TechOnTip Weblog

Run book for Technocrats

VHD compact error: This request operation could not be completed due to file system limitation

Posted by Brajesh Panda on April 6, 2012

I was trying to compact my dynamically expanding VHD file of a hyper-v virtual machine. Here the error what I got;

“The system failed to compact <MyDrive>.VHD. Error code: The requested operation could not be completed due to a file system limitation.”

Event viewer error looks like below

The system failed to compact ‘S:\Virtual Machines\<server_name>\Virtual Hard Disks\VHD_C.vhd’. Error Code: 2424869

So this means we have some volume shadow copies for the drive inside the operating system. We have to remove them.

# Vssadmin list shadows

# vssadmin delete shadows /all

Well I don’t have that backup software anymore. In windows 2008 R2 there is a inbuilt command to delete shadows forcefully i.e. Diskshadow.exe.

Now I am able to compress my vhd from 130GB to 50GB. WOOOT!!

One Response to “VHD compact error: This request operation could not be completed due to file system limitation”

  1. […] VHD compact error: This request operation could not be … – Apr 06, 2012 · I was trying to compact my dynamically expanding VHD file of a hyper-v virtual machine. Here the error what I got; “The system failed to compact …… […]

Leave a Reply

 
