TechOnTip Weblog

Run book for Technocrats

“Memory Demand” is not showing up any value in Windows 2008 R2 SP1 Hyper-v instance

Posted by Brajesh Panda on April 9, 2012

I was consolidating our RnD virtual machines to a new Windows 2008 R2 SP1 Hyper-v server. After I imported all virtual machines, configured dynamic memory minimum & maximum range for all of them! Then installed new integration pack in them because I imported those VMs from other 2008 & R2 hyper-v servers. Thought they will start using dynamic memory.

Later couple of days I got a complaint from one of my colleague his VM is pretty slow. Saw two VMs are not showing memory demand values. As these are Windows 2008 R2 Virtual machines, I was not thinking these machines don’t have SP1 installed in them. I was only concentrating on integration pack. Then I referred to my old dynamic memory notes & realized SP1 need to be installed on them. Seems like as these are test virtual machines my colleague forget to install SP1 and I overlooked them.

Silly…

Leave a Reply

 
