TechOnTip Weblog

Run book for Technocrats

EMC VNX: Volume is unreachable by server_2, Message ID: 13690601492

Posted by Brajesh Panda on December 6, 2012

I was running out of space in NFS stores, which are assigned to VMware farm. I created two LUNs added to ~filestorage Storage Group.

To get them detected by the NAS Pool quickly I ran Storage Scan from Unisphere; ended up with below error;

Discovering storage on corp-cstst-01 (may take several minutes)
d7 d10 d8 d9 d11 d12 d13 d15 d14: volume is unreachable by server_2.ch

Message ID: 13690601492

Also tried to scan from “nasadmin” shell using “server_devconfig server_2 -c -s -a” but ended up nearly same kind of error. Which I forget to noted down. 😉

Later on while troubleshooting found all disks (LUNs) assigned to ~filestorage Storage Group are only attached to one data mover server i.e. Server_2. As my two new luns are not showing I removed them & did couple of scanning but no luck.

After working with EMC Engineering Support found this is a bug in my existing NAS code; which has been fixed in 7.0.54.x higher. EMC engineer referred to EMC Primus article emc295151 but never gave me a copy though and told me to stay away from that debug page ;-(

Well he logged me into VNX Debug URL (https://StorageProcessorIP/debug) & then we ran “Force full poll” in both storage processor and after completion storage processor scan in nasadmin shell. It helped to rebind those LUNs to both data mover servers.

Ten added my two new luns & checked status with “nas_disk -l“, they are still unassigned to server_3.
After running a storage scan they automatically assigned to server_3. And I am able to create new NFS stores.

2 Responses to “EMC VNX: Volume is unreachable by server_2, Message ID: 13690601492”

  1. Leanne said

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to
    assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  2. Wonderful, what a webpage it is! This blog presents useful information to us, keep it
    up.

Leave a Reply

 
