TechOnTip Weblog

Run book for Technocrats

Turn off User Account Control in Windows 2008 (R2)

Posted by Brajesh Panda on June 2, 2010

In Windows 2008

1. Click Start, and then click Control Panel.

2. In Control Panel, click User Accounts.

3. In the User Accounts window, click User Accounts.

4. In the User Accounts tasks window, click Turn User Account Control on or off.

5. If UAC is currently configured in Admin Approval Mode, the User Account Control message appears. Click Continue.

6. Clear the Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer check box, and then click OK.

7. Click Restart Now to apply the change right away, or click Restart Later and close the User Accounts tasks window.

Here is the Microsoft Office Article: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc709691(WS.10).aspx

In Windows 2008 R2 or Windows 7

Using Registry:  Click here

Using GUI:  Follow below steps or in windows explorer bar just type “Control Panel\User Accounts\User Accounts” & press enter – it will take you there. Even in Windows 7 old Vista command works “UserAccountControlSettings.exe

24 Responses to “Turn off User Account Control in Windows 2008 (R2)”

  1. TypeImmeW said

    Great post, I am almost 100% in agreement with you

  2. Jamie Iomo said

    Good Afternoon

    Awesome blog, great write up, thank you!

  3. Jay said

    I don’t have a ‘User Accounts’ to click once in the User Accounts applet as stated in item 3:

    3. In the User Accounts window, click User Accounts.

    I don’t see a ‘Turn User Account Control on or off’ on any of the available tabs..

    4. In the User Accounts tasks window, click Turn User Account Control on or off.

    Please help!

    0Jay

  4. cheap sage 50 accounts…

    […]Turn off User Account Control in Windows 2008 R2 « TechOnTip Weblog[…]…

  5. imtiaza said

    Jay you are using Windows 7 thats why you are stuck in step 3 …:)

  6. shanky said

    thanxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 🙂

  7. Thrinadh said

    Nice post. Clear & Brief Explanation. Thanks a lot.

  8. lo said

    it’s done.
    thanks a lot for this … i was tried lot of things to sort out, but had headack…. now finally it got resolve….once againg thanks

  9. I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should also go to see this webpage on regular basis to take updated from most up-to-date news.

  10. I was suggested this web site by way of my cousin.
    I’m no longer positive whether or not this put up is written via him as no one else understand such certain approximately my problem. You are wonderful! Thanks!

  11. certainly like your website however you need to check the spelling on quite a few of
    your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very bothersome to tell the reality nevertheless I will
    definitely come again again.

  12. DoronF said

    Check this link to disable UAC for Windows server 2012:
    http://www.dfarber.com/computer-consulting-blog/2014/1/23/how-to-disable-user-account-control-in-windows-server-2012.aspx

  13. D said

    Hi Brajesh,

    As an adiminstrator how can I apply this for all my users. We use Windows Sever 2008 R2 in our main server. Can this be done through account policies so it applies to all the users, because they continuously complain about the warning that popup when they try to run some apps which are used pretty frequently in our company.

    Best,
    D

  14. This iis very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I’veshared your website in my social networks!

  15. You don’t need to go to the beach for this favorite treat. Learning you have celiac disease
    can be very overwhelming, particularly as the ‘cure’ is not one or two pills, but a very strict gluten-free diet.
    The author of this GFP article loves fruit and realises that this affair was fostered in childhood where his father grew many varieties of fruit trees in his home yard.

  16. What’s up, just wanted to say, I loved this post. It was
    practical. Keep on posting!

  17. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily,
    this website is actually fastidious and the users are actually sharing good thoughts.

  18. Thank you for another magnificent post. Where
    else could anybody get that type of information in such an ideal means of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the search for such information.

  19. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This
    is a very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come
    back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post.

    I’ll definitely return.

  20. Your style is so unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.

    I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity,
    Guess I will just book mark this blog.

  21. After I initially left a comment I seem to
    have clicked the -Notify me when new comments
    are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I get four emails with
    the same comment. Is there a way you can remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

  22. whoah this blog is fantastic i love studying your posts.
    Keep up the great work! You understand, lots of people are searching round for
    this information, you could aid them greatly.

Leave a comment